Tags

, , , , ,

I keep dreaming about the bacon tart I had at The Vanderbilt a couple weeks ago. So this weekend I tried to recreate it. The real inspiration was these fantastic mini cast iron pans that were crying out to be used. I thought it would be a great vessel for the tart. The last time I made an apple pie I made an extra disk of pie crust to make a tart but never got around to it. So into the freezer it went. I think the tart at The Vanderbilt is puff pastry but I knew the buttery crust would be just as delicious. It is supposed to have a creme fraiche type sauce drizzled on it, but even without it, it turned out to be a good substitute for the real thing.

Bacon and Onion Tart
This makes 1  6 1/2″ tart

Ingredients:
Pie crust – I used about a quarter of a single layer pie crust.
1 small onion
2 slices bacon
1 egg

Directions:
Roll out the pie crust and put it in the pan. Dock the bottom and chill in the refrigerator until firm.

Slice the onion very thinly. Saute in a pan with a little olive oil and butter over low heat. You want to caramelize them to a nice golden color and not burn them so it takes a while.

Preheat oven to 350F. Bake tart until golden about 20-25 minutes.

Meanwhile dice bacon and cook until brown and crisp.

Just before the crust is done, fry the egg.

Assemble the tart, layer onions and bacon in the tart shell top with the fried egg.

 

