Tags

, , , , ,

After a lovely day of brunching and shopping I came home to this and I thought it was best to lock myself inside and cook and bake for the rest of the day. At brunch, at Joseph Leonard, my meal came with shredded Brussels sprouts with Sriracha sauce. After I cleaned my plate I said I could just eat a whole plateful of the Brussels sprouts which is exactly what I did for dinner. I’ve had a lot of shredded Brussels sprouts lately and have been wanting to try it at home. I had my two stalks from my CSA and the inspiration to do it. For a first try these came out great. I used similar flavors from my favorite dish at The Vanderbilt. I have to do some tweaking and experimenting but I think I found a favorite new Brussels sprouts recipe. My sprouts were small so I sliced them by hand which was so time-consuming.

Shredded Brussels Sprouts

Ingredients:
About 1 1/2-2 cups Brussels Sprouts shredded
Lime juice from half a lime
Fish sauce, about 2 tablespoons, tread lightly with this as a little goes a long way
Honey, about a 1/4-1/2 teaspoon
Cilantro
Sriracha

Directions:
Heat enough olive oil to coat the pan over medium heat. Saute Brussels sprout for a few minutes until they start to brown. Mix together the lime juice , fish sauce and honey. Add cilantro and stir. Add sauce to pan, stir to coat. You should taste now and see if anything needs to be added. There should not be extra sauce in the pan. Drizzle with Sriracha to serve. A little goes a long way with this too.

