Tags

, , , , ,

Tonight I massaged my dinner. That’s right, massaged. Kale seems to have become the new Brussels sprouts, it is popping up on all the menus. I recently had an eye opening kale salad at Fatty Cue and so I wanted to make a salad with the bunch I got from my CSA this week. When I searched for a kale recipe this recipe from the Food Network was the first one to come up and besides the odd name it had 500+ reviews and a 5 star rating. It sounded decent enough and I was curious to see if the massaging process actually made a difference. It seems to have worked. It was tasty, plus it’s a superfood!

Massaged Kale Salad

Ingredients:
1 bunch kale (black kale is especially good), stalks removed and discarded, leaves thinly sliced (I think mine was red Russian kale)
1 lemon, juiced
2-3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
Kosher salt
1 teaspoon honey
Freshly ground black pepper

Directions:
In large serving bowl, add the kale, half of lemon juice, a drizzle of oil and a good sprinkling of  kosher salt. Massage until the kale starts to soften and wilt, 2 to 3 minutes. Set aside while you make the dressing.

Whisk together the rest of the lemon juice, olive oil, honey and pepper. Pour the dressing over the kale.

I like my dressing tart so you may need to add more olive oil to suit your taste. I didn’t add anything else to the salad but the original recipe calls for mango and pumpkin seeds.

