Tags

, , , , , ,

This week is has been an unsuccessful cooking week. I attempted to make sweet potato biscuits using a combination of whole wheat and white flour. I used Alton Brown’s recipe, and I’m sure if you followed it exactly they would be great but mine didn’t rise much and the flavor wasn’t great.

Sweet Potato Biscuits

I also attempted to make sweet potato gnocchi. I baked some extra sweet potato when I made the biscuits to try this recipe. They turned out to be dense, doughy blobs. The flavor had potential so I may try again with the rest of the dough.

I came across this recipe last week on Food52 and it looked so good. Plus, my sister gave me a bacon of the month club membership from Zingerman’s for Christmas this year. I received the first shipment, applewood smoked, last week and have been dying to make it.

Mmmmm!

It is delicious! The soup, not so much. I didn’t have the rosemary so I left it out which was probably a bad idea. But also I didn’t love the vinaigrette. The texture however, was great. It would have been good if I just added the bacon to the soup. So in order to salvage it I added cheddar cheese to the soup. As you can imagine, it helped a lot.

Potato Soup with Bacon Vinaigrette

Potato Cheddar Soup

Follow the recipe found here without the rosemary and bacon vinaigrette. After you puree the soup, add grated cheddar cheese. I added about 1/2 cup to half of the soup, so I guess around 1 cup for a full recipe. Stir until cheese is melted.

