Tags

, , , , ,

This weekend I was craving a doughnut so I decided to make a batch and experiment with different flavors. I had previously made a baked doughnut that turned out well so I worked with that. The two flavors I came up with were chocolate with coffee and maple pecan. I made the full, plain recipe, divided it and mixed in the flavorings. The maple pecan was the more successful flavor. The chocolate seemed a little blah and maybe lacking a bit in sugar.

The maple pecan was good. I added maple syrup, pecans and a dash of cinnamon which made it taste like winter.

Chocolate Coffee Doughnuts

You can find the original recipe here. I added about 2 tablespoons cocoa powder and 1/4 cup strong coffee to half of the original recipe. I would add this before you start adding the flour and adjust the flour as needed. I would also add more sugar, maybe a tablespoon. Top with confectioners sugar.

Maple Pecan Doughnuts

You can find the original recipe here. I added 2 tablespoons maple syrup, a 1/4 cup pecans and a few dashes of cinnamon to half of the original recipe. Again, I would add this before you start adding the flour and adjust the flour as needed. I made a maple glaze to coat them. It consisted of confectioners sugar, maple syrup and a splash of milk to thin it out.

