Tags

, , , , ,

One night last week, since I was away this weekend, I decided to get a head start on lunch for this week. I had a head of napa cabbage from my CSA that I needed to use. I wanted to make an asian slaw and I still can since I still have half left. But instead I decided to make a cabbage soup with chorizo. It made more than I was anticipating which is a good thing since it’s so good. The chorizo added a nice smokey flavor to the soup. I will be adding this to my regular soup rotation.

Cabbage and Chorizo Soup

Ingredients:
4oz chorizo chopped
1 small onion diced
1 clove of garlic minced
2 potatoes diced (I used Keuka Gold Potatoes which are like Yukon gold)
1/2 head cabbage thinly sliced (I used napa)
4 cups chicken stock

Directions:
Add a tablespoon of olive oil to a pot over medium heat. Add chorizo and cook until they start to brown. Stir in the onions, cook until translucent. Add garlic to the pot and let cook 1 minute. Add potatoes and cook for a couple minutes. Season with salt and pepper. Add cabbage and stock, cover and bring to a simmer. Remove lid and simmer for about 30 minutes. Season with salt and pepper to taste.

