Tags

, , , , , , ,

Since I only had carrots and potatoes left from my CSA, I was thinking about roasting a chicken this weekend to have for lunch and some dinners this week. But I wanted thought I should try something different so I checked out Dorie Greenspan‘s cookbook Around My French Table. (Great cookbook!) I knew there would be a good recipe in there and boy was I right. This recipe was great, it tasted like something you would get in a restaurant. Diable is French for devil and according to Dorie, mustard is the hottest condiment in the French kitchen. A lot of times when I use mustard in cooking the mustard overpowers everything. I added slightly less than the recipe called for and this turned into a perfect sauce. I could eat it with a spoon. I used bone-in breasts so I could make stock but next time I would stick to the recipe since it took so much time. I would also shred it and add it directly to the sauce so every piece is coated with that wonderful sauce. That is what I actually did with the leftovers. Four days later it’s still delicious!

Chicken Breasts Diable
Makes 4 servings

Ingredients:
4 skinless boneless chicken breasts pounded lightly, at room temperature
1 tablespoon butter
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 medium shallot finely chopped
1 clove garlic finely chopped
1/3 cup dry white wine
1/2 cup heavy cream
3 tablespoons dijon mustard (I used 2 heaping tablespoons)
1-2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce

Directions:
Put a large skillet over medium-high heat and add the butter and olive oil. When the butter is melted, add the chicken to the pan. Cook chicken until the underside is browned, about 4 minutes. Turn the pieces over and cook until the chicken is browned and cooked through. Keep the chicken warm in the oven. Since I used bone-in breasts, I browned them in the pan and then put them in the oven to finish cooking.

Lower the heat to medium, add the shallots and garlic to the pan and season with salt and pepper. Cook, stirring, until they start to soften, about 2 minutes. Add the wine, when it starts to bubble stir it to scrape the brown bits off the bottom of the pan. Let it boil for a few seconds and add the cream. As soon as it reaches a boil, stir in the mustard and 1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce. Taste and decide it you want more mustard, Worcestershire or pepper.

Remove the chicken from the oven and pour any juices back into the pan and stir. Serve the chicken with the sauce.

There is also a variation on this with filet mignon with wine and brandy. I’ll definitely be trying that one.

I served this with mashed potatoes and glazed carrots.

