Tags

, , , ,

A few weeks ago I had brunch at a place called Kiwiana in Park Slope, Brooklyn with some friends. While eating, my friend asked me if I would be recreating any of the things we had for my blog and I said no. Little did I know a couple of weeks later I would be making the lime scones she had that afternoon. I am glad I did because now I have a new favorite breakfast treat. I haven’t made anything from my Baked cookbook yet so I cracked it open to see if they had a scone recipe. Baked the bakery is another Brooklyn spot which I’ve been to. They had one, a sour lemon scone. I used the dough recipe, minus all the extras, as my base. I used lime juice to make the buttermilk instead of buying if from the store. The first time I made them I did not read the recipe correctly and added too much buttermilk so the dough was sticky but they came out so moist that I’m sticking, no pun intended, with it. Also, I halved the recipe which gives you 8 nicely sized scones.

Lime Scones
Makes 8 scones 

Ingredients:
2 cups all-purpose flour
1/4 cup sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
Zest of 1 lime
3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) cold butter
1/2 large egg (beat it and estimate what is half )
1/2 cup buttermilk (to make- add the juice of 1 lime to 1/2 cup whole milk and let sit for a few minutes)

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350F.

I did this all in a food processor. Combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and lime zest in the food processor and pulse to mix.

Add butter and pulse to until the butter is pea-sized. Pour in the egg and pulse. Pour in the buttermilk reserving a couple a tablespoons for brushing on the tops of the scones. Pulse until dough is combined.

Turn dough out onto a floured surface. This dough will be sticky. Pat dough into a 1 1/2 inch thick circle. Try not to add too much flour when shaping the dough. Cut the disc into 8 equal wedges. Place the wedges on a baking sheet lined with parchment. Brush the tops with the reserved buttermilk. Sprinkle with sugar if you want. Bake about 25-30 minutes or until scones are golden brown.

Transfer to a rack and let cool. They are best served warm.

