Tags

, , , ,

I discovered frozen cupcakes. My life is complete. A couple of weeks ago I had an  abundance of carrot cake cupcakes that I didn’t know what to do with so I just took the whole container and stuck it in the freezer. I’ve never froze cupcakes before so I was leery but I took one out the other night and it was still as good as when they were fresh and it defrosted quickly on the counter. This is really going to affect my cupcake consumption!

Artichokes are one of my favorite things to eat but I don’t eat them that often. This time of year, between CSA seasons, I eat all the food I don’t get to the rest of the year. Since I was a child my mom served us boiled artichokes and would dip the leaves in salt or maybe butter. I usually make them this way but a few years ago I started grilling them on my grill pan. It’s a nice change from the usual.

Grilled Artichokes

Ingredients:
2 artichokes (smaller ones cook quicker)
1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil
Juice of 1 lemon
3 cloves of garlic minced
Salt & pepper

Directions:

Heat a grill pan over medium heat.

Cut artichokes in half lengthwise. Scoop out the choke and the small center leaves with a spoon. Mix the olive oil, lemon, garlic, a decent amount of salt and pepper. Brush all sides of the artichoke with the oil mixture. Place the artichokes on the grill cut side down. Cook for about 15 minutes on each side or until tender. This will vary based on size. You could boil them for a bit before you put them on the grill which will speed the cooking time.

Serve the artichokes with the remaining oil.

