Tags

, , , , ,

I don’t think I’ve ever made waffles from scratch before so I decided to give it a try this weekend to go with my delicious bacon from my bacon of the month club. This bacon, Surry Farms Virginia Bacon, was by far the best I’ve received yet. I was looking for something more to put on the waffles and since it is the season to clean out the freezer, I found some frozen strawberries. I decided to make a sauce with them and some basil from the freezer.

You can find the recipe for the waffles here. They could have been a little more flavorful for my tastes. Maybe a touch more vanilla and sugar would do it.

Strawberry Basil Sauce

Ingredients:
1- 1 1/2 cups frozen strawberries
Juice from half a lemon
1 tablespoon sugar
Pinch of salt
A few leaves basil

Directions:
Combine all ingredients in a pot over medium low heat. Bring to a simmer and cook stirring frequently. Smash the strawberries as they cook. Cook about 10-15 minutes until the strawberries break down. Serve with waffles.

