Tags

, , , , , ,

I’ve never had garlic chives before so when I received it in my CSA this week I tasted it right away. I was impressed, it had a nice garlic flavor. As soon as the flavor hit my tongue I knew what I wanted to make with it. Pesto! It’s a pretty fun herb, try it if you can find it! I hope to see more in this season’s CSA so I can experiment some more.

This turned out really good. It was a perfect mix of garlic and earthiness. I made this like I make all pestos which means I didn’t measure. I pureed the whole bunch of garlic chives in the food processor with olive oil, a few walnuts, parmesan cheese, salt and pepper. Taste and adjust the flavor and texture as needed. Toss with hot pasta, reserve some cooking water in case you need to thin out the pesto. Serve with some more grated parmesan. 

