Tags

, , , , ,

One word, WATERMELON! I love it! It’s such a treat to get in our CSA. We got a whole bunch last year and it was the tastiest watermelon ever. I can not wait to bite into this one. We also got some more beautiful tomatoes and although I don’t like radishes or beets I have to say they sure are pretty.

This week’s share:
1 bunch Leeks
1 bunch Radishes
1 bunch Beets
1 head Red Romaine
1 lb Cherry Tomatoes
1 lb Heirloom Tomatoes
1/4 Watermelon

Tonight I made a very CSA meal. The first dish i made using the bunch of celery I received last week. Thank you for all the suggestions. I searched for a braised celery recipe and came up with this one by Alton Brown. It sounded good to me so I gave it a shot. I used chicken stock instead of beef. Turned out pretty good but I bet it would be better with the beef stock.

The second dish used 2 CSA veggies and was recommended by a fellow CSA member. It used eggplant, parsley and I added the tomatoes since I thought it would be a nice addition. This came out better than I expected. You can find the recipe here.

