Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

We spent the past week cooped up in the house. I have been doing a lot of cooking and baking but also eating out a lot. When you have no transportation to leave your neighborhood you grab your friends within walking distance and you go eat. I was able to try a few new places in the neighborhood and enjoy happy hour specials I am usually working through. Here’s a recap of what was cooking in the kitchen.

It seems like so long ago but this was the first thing I made in preparation for hurricane.

These pot pies were inspired by a Smitten Kitchen recipe. I used white beans, arugula, leeks, onion, mushrooms and garlic. It was a very hearty flavorful dish. A side of steamed string beans rounded out the meal.

Another dinner I made was a giant beef caesar salad.

I made it using red romaine lettuce, homemade croutons and caesar salad. Great meal! Homemade croutons are the best!

I then tackled the winter melon I received in my CSA this week. I had no idea what to expect. I was leery after trying bitter melon. Bitter is an understatement. A good friend of mine always has recommendations for these uncommon Asian vegetables. She sent me this link which is similar to what her grandma makes. I used this as inspiration for my soup.

I made this soup by simmering chicken stock with a piece of peeled ginger and 4 whole garlic cloves smashed. After the stock was fragrant I added the winter melon which I cubed and a few mushrooms sliced. I simmered it all together for a bit and removed the ginger and garlic. It was tasty! The broth was delish. The winter melon took on the flavor of the broth and had a velvety texture.

And for dessert, some chocolate chip cookies.

 

I searched for a Dorie Greenspan recipe and found one here. I took the suggestion and added sea salt to a couple batches. What a great addition. These turned out great. Very buttery and crisp but chewy.

Now it’s back to reality.

 

