Tags

, , , , , ,

Happy New Year!

We are halfway through the winter CSA. It has been a great run so far! I missed posting  the last pickup with the hectic holiday schedule. It was equally as good as this week’s. I am impressed with the veggies Farmer Fred keeps sending.

This week’s share:

2 lbs. Sweet Potatoes 
2 lbs. Fingerling Potatoes  
3 lbs. Mixed Beets
1 head Red Cabbage
1 head Broccoli
4 lbs. Orange Carrots
1 Stalk Brussels Sprouts
3 lbs. Mixed Carrots
1 pc of Acorn Squash
1 head Green Boston Lettuce
1 Napa Cabbage (I missed this)
1 pc Delicata Squash
3 pcs. Baby Bok Choy
1 head Red Boston Lettuce
1 Japanese Daikon Radish 
1 small bulb Garlic

DSCN6932

It’s good to see all these colors in the middle of winter.

Shh…don’t tell my boyfriend but I served him anchovies! Actually, it was anchovy paste. If he knew, he would be totally grossed out. You can’t taste any fishiness and it just adds an extra depth to the dish. I had a head of green cabbage left from the last pickup and I was craving pasta, as always. One of the first recipes to come up was this one from the NY Times. I didn’t follow the recipe but it was the inspiration. I made the sauce with the anchovy paste, garlic and butter. The cabbage was seasoned with salt and pepper and sauteed with garlic, and oil until caramelized. Tossed the sauce, cabbage and pasta together and topped with parmesan cheese.

DSCN6936

