Tags

, , , , ,

I’ve set a goal for myself this week. I want to cook dinner (or eat the leftovers) everyday this week. No takeout or eating out this week. I have been too lazy when it comes to cooking dinner lately and I hope this will help me get back to it. The week is off to a good start. I started out with this dish and it made enough for several meals. A few things inspired this dish; chicken and rice soup, baked risotto and a leftover half of green cabbage. This came out really good. The arborio rice made it creamy and the tomato added a nice acidic note. It was a nice hearty meal for a dreary day.

DSCN6945

Cabbage, Tomato and Rice Bake

Ingredients:
1/2 onion chopped
1/2 head green cabbage thinly sliced
2 cloves of garlic minced
2/3 cup arborio rice
15oz can of tomatoes (I used a jar of tomatoes I canned over the summer)
2-3 cups chicken stock

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 350F.

Heat a couple of tablespoons of olive oil in a dutch oven or other ovenproof pot over medium heat. Saute the onions until they are translucent. Add cabbage and season with salt and pepper. Cook until the cabbage starts to wilt. Stir in garlic and cook for a minute. Add arborio rice and stir to coat with oil. Add the tomatoes and their liquid and enough chicken stock to cover most of the cabbage.

Cover and move to the oven. Cook for about 40 minutes or until the rice is cooked through and most of the liquid has evaporated. Stir a couple times while it is cooking.

You could change this and add different vegetables to suit your tastes. A wonderful addition would be grated parmesan.

