Tags

, , , , , ,

Today was the start of the 2013 summer CSA season. This year, in addition to the standard veggie share, Village Fishmonger offered a CSF, community supported fishery, share. Each week I will be getting 2 lbs. of seafood, 1 of which is going to a friend. I always say I want to eat more fish so when this was offered I jumped on it. If this week is sign of things to come it is going to be a great 23 weeks! We got 1 lb. of mahi mahi and 1 lb. of squid. Great start! And the veggies look good too!

This week’s share:
1 bu mixed carrots
1 green boston lettuce
1 red romaine
1 bu french radish
1 pcs baby bok choy
1/2 lb asparagus
1 pt strawberries
8oz sugar snap peas

1 lb. Mahi Mahi
1 lb. Longfin Squid

DSCN7552

 

DSCN7546

 

DSCN7548

 

My hope is to cook the fish the same night I get it so that it doesn’t go to waste waiting for me to have a free night. I am off to a good start. When I found out we were getting squid, I thought of one thing, calamari of course. I had to do it. I breaded the rings in flour, salt and pepper and fried them until golden. I made a mayo, chipotle powder, lemon and salt dipping sauce to go along with it. Simple and delicious!

DSCN7555

