Tags

, , , , , ,

It has been nice getting back into the routine of having and cooking vegetables every week. It was another good pickup.

The week’s share:
1 bunch Mint
1 head Red Boston
1 bunch greenhouse Carrots
1 head Green Boston
4 pcs. Garlic Scapes

1lb Monkfish

 

DSCN8057

 

I was very excited to see mint in our share. I don’t recall ever getting it before but more so I thought mojitos! This cocktail isn’t quite a mojito but it sure was refreshing drinking it in the park on a sunny afternoon.

image-1

 

I was surprised to see monkfish again this week since we had it the week before as well. Luckily it is a great fish. I learned two things this week about monkfish. One, it is among the leanest fish. Two, it has a high moisture content so you need to salt it before cooking to draw the liquid out. This second one I learned the hard way. I followed this recipe from Food & Wine for the frying. I thought it was odd that you only breaded one side but I understood once I plated them. There was a pool of liquid under them on the plate. They still tasted good but it was a learning experience. I made a cilantro dipping sauce with mayo, garlic, lemon, a bit of sugar and a splash of vinegar.

DSCN8059

Again, we ate quite a few salads this week.

DSCN8063

