Tags

, , , , , , , ,

This week’s share:
1 bunch Basil
1 bunch Green Scallions
1 head Green Romaine
3 pcs. Baby Bok Choy
1 head Iceberg Lettuce
8 oz. Sugar Snap Peas

1 lb. Golden Tilefish

DSCN8068

That’s a lot of green this week!

Golden tilefish was one of the fish I first learned about, and loved, last year after receiving it in our CSF. It was great seeing it on the menu in one of the restaurants in my neighborhood. I decided to cook it in paper in the oven. I wrapped it up with spring onions, basil, salt and pepper, a little butter and a lot of lemon juice. It was delish!

DSCN8070

One thing I have been wanting to try for years is lettuce soup. This has been suggested by my CSA as an alternative to salad. I had three heads of lettuce in the fridge when I decided to finally try making soup. I started out sauteing spring onions, scallions and garlic in olive oil and a little butter and salt and pepper. Then I added in the lettuce. I used 1 head of green Boston lettuce, half a head of romaine and a handful of basil and cooked it down until it was wilted. After that, I added chicken stock, 3-4 cups, and simmered it for 20 minutes. Afterwards, I pureed it all and added about 1/2 cup heavy cream and seasoned with salt. I haven’t eaten a full bowl yet but the flavor and appearance for that matter reminds me of cream of broccoli soup.

DSCN8076

