Tags

, , ,

Funfetti was my favorite cupcake flavor growing up. If you don’t know what it is, it’s a Pillsbury boxed cake mix with colorful specks throughout the cake. I never really gave much thought to how Funfetti was made, of course I was a teenager the last time I made it, but after seeing recipes for it recently it is so obvious. Basically, you add sprinkles to cake batter, the sprinkles dissolve leaving bright flecks of color behind.

I saw this recipe on Food 52. Molly Yeh, who is my new favorite food blogger, went a step further to replicate the taste of actual Funfetti. The key to this cake is imitation vanilla. Of course this makes sense since you are using a boxed cake mix, but this is something I have never used. Only the real stuff in my kitchen. It made a world of difference in the final product though. The cake tasted exactly like I remember! it was so good!

DSCN8753

DSCN8761

DSCN8763We served this on Super Bowl Sunday along with other terrible delicious food like pigs in a blanket and buffalo chicken dip. So good yet so bad!

 

 

 

