Tags

, , , , , ,

While looking for beet recipes to test out I kept coming across cakes with beets in them. Tonight, I was craving some chocolate and since I was shopping for ramekins today I had individual servings on my mind so I decided to test out a mini beet cake. I didn’t follow a recipe and I didn’t measure so I can’t really supply one. I was feeling lazy so I didn’t puree which if I ever decide to make this again I will definitely do. You can’t really taste the beets but you can smell them and that is a little odd. But overall not a bad cake.

Chocolate Beet Cake

For my individual cake I finely grated one beet.

Look at how pretty this beet is!

Simmered the beet with some water and sugar.

Simmering beets

Then whisked together 1 egg, a couple tablespoons of cocoa powder, more sugar, a pinch of salt, vanilla and almond extract. Then I added the beets. I would have done this all in my mini food processor to get a nice smooth texture. Bake at 350F for 30 minutes.

Chocolate Beet Cake