Tags

, , , ,

The last time I ordered from Fresh Direct, they sent me an extra bag of onions so I had to make something with them. I remembered having a delicious french onion soup with beef at some point so I wanted to try something similar. I searched and searched for the perfect recipe and this was the best I could find. Even though this recipe is not exactly what I was looking for I liked it for it’s simplicity. This recipe came from Better Homes and Gardens. I made a few modifications to the recipe. The first was that I let the onions caramelize slowly for a long, long time. Another changed was that I added a lot more beef stock after adding the onions to the short rib broth to give it a soup consistency. I love the melted cheese on onion soup but I hate the soggy bread. Instead I made crostini with gruyere and served them on the side for dipping. It was great. The flavor was so rich. The short ribs were definitely a great addition.

DSCN8735