Tags

, , , ,

I’m still recovering from all the cooking and eating at Thanksgiving. Last night I was so tired of leftovers and still didn’t feel like cooking that I ordered some Thai take out and it was definitely the right choice. Tonight, however, I had to start cooking again because I have a fridge full of CSA veggies. I made another cabbage soup, which I’ll tell you about at a later date, and banh mi inspired sandwiches to bring to work for lunch. I was missing carrots and I substituted parsley for cilantro but the goal of making this was to use some daikon. The pork part of this recipe is delicious on it’s own.

Banh Mi

Makes 2 sandwiches

Ingredients:

1 clove garlic minced

2 tablespoons soy sauce

2 tablespoons vinegar (preferably rice vinegar) plus more for daikon

1/2 teaspoon sesame oil

1 tablespoon brown sugar

2 pork chops sliced into thin pieces

1 carrots grated ( I didn’t use any)

1 piece of daikon, about 2 inches long grated

3 scallions sliced

Cilantro roughly chopped (I used Parsley)

Mayonnaise

Sriracha Sauce

½ baguette

Directions:

Combine first 5 ingredients, add pork, marinate for at least 20 minutes. Grate daikon into a bowl and cover with vinegar which will pickle it. Prepare other vegetables.

Cook pork over medium high heat until done. Combine 1-2 tablespoons of mayo and 1 teaspoon sriracha (to taste) in a bowl to create a spicy mayo.

Cut ½ baguette into 2 equal pieces, slice them in half and spread spicy mayo on both halves. Top with pork, daikon, carrots and scallions.

 

 

 

 

 

My Banh Mi