Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I think I discovered a new favorite thing. My corner store didn’t have any ricotta cheese today so I decided I’ll just have to make some. I wanted to add garlic to the lasagna and thought why not heat the milk with a couple cloves of garlic in it. I have made a bechamel with whole garlic cloves in it and it turned out pretty great so I thought this would be similar. It also turned out pretty great and I’m wondering what other flavors would work well with the ricotta. I always make ricotta when I have parties, I’m excited that I now have a new flavor to share.

Garlic Ricotta Cheese

You can find the original recipe here. I added one giant, or 2 regular sized, cloves of smashed garlic to the heating milk. I used 1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar and 2 tablespoons lemon juice. I added the vinegar and lemon juice earlier than normal, just when the first bubbles appear, and I got a creamier, less firm ricotta.

Summer Squash Lasagna  

Ingredients:
1 spring onion, halved and sliced
3 scallions sliced
6-10 summer squash sliced lengthwise into 1/8″ pieces
A splash of white wine
3/4 lbs lasagna noodles
2 cups ricotta cheese (I would add garlic to the squash if you are not using the garlic ricotta)
1 lbs mozzarella, slice or shredded
A few tablespoons basil chopped
1/4 cup grated parmesan (I used a combination of parmesan and pecorino)

Directions:
Saute onions in olive oil until translucent. 

Add scallions and squash. Season with salt and pepper. Cook until squash is tender and has released its liquid. Add a splash of wine and reduce.

Preheat oven to 350F. Cook lasagna noodles according to package directions.

Assemble lasagna: Spread a tiny amount of the squash mixture in the bottom of a 9″x13″ pan.

Layer with noodles, half the ricotta cheese and squash, one third mozzarella and parmesan and half of the basil. Repeat this. Top the layer with noodles, mozzarella and parmesan.

Cover and bake for 20 minutes. Uncover and bake for another 20 minutes or until it starts bubbling and the cheese browns. Let it cool for at least 10 minutes before serving.

Check out these cute braided carrots that came in my bunch from the farmer’s market.