Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I figured since it feels like we’ve been living in the south, we should eat like it. I really outdid myself this time. This weekend’s menu included pulled pork sandwiches topped with cole slaw, grilled corn and bourbon peach hand pies with homemade vanilla ice cream. It was an amazing food weekend. The pulled pork was tender and I made a sweet, tangy and smokey BBQ sauce to go along with it. In my opinion cole slaw is the perfect pulled pork sandwich compliment. Grilled corn is always great. The corn from the farmers market was nice and sweet. Local peaches are so sweet and juicy this time of year, I thought they would go great with the rest of the meal. And of course when there’s pie there has to be vanilla ice cream. I just go the ice cream maker attachment for my Kitchenaid so I was so excited to make my first batch. Homemade ice cream is so good! I can’t wait to experiment with other flavors.

 

Pulled Pork
This makes enough for a crowd.  

Ingredients:
4-5 lbs pork shoulder
1 large onion quartered
2 cloves of garlic
2 bottles beer (I used a dark beer that was left in my fridge)

Directions:
Season the pork with salt and pepper. Add all ingredients to a  crock pot and cook on high for 6 hours or until the meat is falling apart. Remove pork from crock pot and shred. Combine with BBQ sauce (recipe below). Put some pulled pork with BBQ sauce on a toasted roll, top with some cole slaw and enjoy.

BBQ Sauce
The recipe may need to be adjusted to make enough for all the pulled pork. 

Ingredients:
2 cloves of garlic minced
1/4 cup bourbon
1/4 teaspoon pepper
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup ketchup
2 tablespoon cider vinegar
2 teaspoons smoke flavoring
2 tablespoons worcestershire sauce
3 tablespoons brown sugar
A couple dashes hot sauce

Directions:
Simmer bourbon and garlic for a few minutes. Add remaining ingredients, stir to combine and simmer over low heat for 10 minutes.

Napa Cabbage Cole Slaw
I didn’t want a ton so I made this using half a head of cabbage. 

Ingredients:
1/2 head napa cabbage shredded (I just sliced it really thin, you could do this and the carrots in a food processor with the grater disc.)
1 carrot, scrubbed or peeled and grated
1 cup mayonnaise
3 tablespoons dijon mustard
2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper
1 tablespoon parsley chopped

Directions:
Toss the cabbage and carrot in a large bowl. Make dressing by combining the remaining ingredients. Pour dressing over cabbage mix. Start with half the dressing at first and add more as needed.

I have a good feeling this cole slaw would be great with some parmesan cheese.

Bourbon Peach Hand Pies

Smitten Kitchen is one of my go-to food blogs to get great new recipe ideas. You can find the recipe for these here. They were a little time consuming to make but worth the effort. I found it was easier to assemble the pies when you skip the chilling after cutting out the circles. The dough is pretty great. I will keep it in my repertoire. I ended up with much more peach filling than I needed. (I’m going to cook it on the stove and use it as ice cream topping.) The recipe made 15 pies for me.

Vanilla Ice Cream

I found the recipe for this here. It turned out really good. I can’t wait to experiment with other flavors. I had a leftover brownie and wished I had added it to some of the ice cream before I put it in the freezer.