Tags

, , , ,

When I was searching and searching for a cookie recipe to make I came across these on Smitten Kitchen. I had originally wanted to do a peanut butter thumbprint cookie with chocolate but I found this instead and they looked so perfect. Plus I had just enough leftover hazelnuts in the cabinet. They have a great hazelnut flavor and the chocolate is a perfect complement.

Hazelnut Thumbprints
Makes about 24 (I got 35)

Ingredients:
1 almost-full cup (4 ounces) hazelnuts, toasted, skinned and cooled
2/3 cup sugar
1 cup plus 1 tablespoon flour
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 stick (1/2 cup) unsalted butter, melted and cooled slightly
1 large egg, lightly beaten
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
Chocolate (I used 2 or 3 chocolate chips, Smitten Kitchen used wafers which is why hers look so perfect)

Directions:
Pulse hazelnuts, sugar, flour, and salt in a food processor until finely ground. (Be careful not to grind to a paste.) Transfer to a bowl and stir in butter, egg, and extract until combined well. Chill dough, covered, until firm, about 30 minutes.

Put oven rack in middle position and preheat oven to 350°F.

Drop level tablespoons of dough 1 inch apart onto 2 ungreased baking sheets. Roll dough into balls, then chill until slightly firm, about 10 minutes. (I skipped this chill just because I missed it. It still worked.)

Press one piece of chocolate firmly into the top of each ball of cookie dough and bake, 1 sheet at a time, until tops are pale golden and undersides are golden, 10 to 12 minutes. Be careful not to overbake. Transfer cookies to a rack and cool completely.