Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I saw a mound of beautiful romaine lettuce at the farmer’s market this weekend. Lettuce has been a rare sight in the last few months so I snapped up a large head. One of my favorite salads is caesar and it’s not often that I eat it. This is another recipe from my mom and it’s one of the best tasting. I also tried my hand at making homemade croutons. I used up some odds and ends of baguettes that I keep in the freezer. They turned out pretty good too. Now I have another thing to add to my made from scratch list.

Tomorrow, I am heading to Seattle to visit some friends for the weekend. If you have any food and drink recommendations please leave a comment!

Caesar Salad

Ingredients:

1-2 cloves of garlic minced (raw garlic is sometimes a little too strong for me so I usually use 1 clove)
1/2 cup mayo
1 teaspoon dijon mustard
1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1/4 cup parmesan cheese

Directions: 

Mix all ingredients together to make the dressing.

Wash and dry romaine lettuce. Make sure it is dry so the dressing will stick to it. I added chicken to the salad. You could also add beef.

For the croutons, cut stale bread into cubes and toss with olive oil. You can season with salt and pepper if you want. Toast them in a 350F oven until crisp, about 15 minutes.